Paying Your Real Estate Taxes
Real Estate Taxes are collected on an annual basis by the Tax Collector's Office. The tax year runs from January through December.
Tax notices are mailed on or before November 1 of each year, with the following discounts offered:
- 4% if paid in November
- 3% if paid in December
- 2% if paid in January
- 1% if paid in February
- Gross tax if paid in March, no discount applies
Real Estate Taxes become delinquent on April 1 of the following year in which they were assessed. As of April 1, a 3% penalty is added to the gross tax amount due. Discounts do not apply to delinquent payments. Delinquent taxes for past years must be paid by cashier's check or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.
If a taxpayer does not receive a tax notice in November, it is the taxpayer's responsibility to contact the tax collector's office to request a duplicate bill.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 197.122, all property owners are held to know that taxes are due and payable annually. They are charged with the duty of ascertaining the amount of current and delinquent taxes due.
- How to Pay
- Pay Online
- Pay by Mail
- Pay in Person
- Partial Payment
- Defer Payment
- Installment Plan
- Delinquent Taxes
Paying online is simple. Just enter the property address, owner’s name or account (folio) number, click on Property Taxes and Click the Search Button. After searching for a property, in most cases an option will appear to pay for the Property’s Taxes.
If you pay by e-check, there is no convenience fee. Funds must be available for immediate withdrawal from a regular checking account. A service fee of not less than $25.00 up to a maximum of 5% of the amount of the taxes will be charged for any e-check payment returned by the bank. Pursuant to administrative Order 4-86 the taxpayer will be responsible for fees and/or loss of discount resulting from returned payments.
If you pay by credit cards, a convenience fee of 2.35% of the tax amount will be added to the credit card transaction. Only Visa, Mastercard and Discover are accepted.
Delinquent accounts that have a certificate issued or those in a bankrupt status cannot be paid online.Back to Top
Pay by Mail
- Checks or money orders must be made payable to: Miami-Dade County Tax Collector. Do not send cash. All checks must be drawn on U.S. funds and issued on a U.S. bank.
Date, sign, and write your folio number on the check or money order.
- Return only the lower portion of the bill, using the envelope provided with your tax notice.
To pay your current taxes by mail, send your payment to:
MIAMI-DADE TAX COLLECTOR
140 W FLAGLER ST
MIAMI FL 33130
- For payments made by mail, discounts are based on the postmark of the envelope. To avoid additional interest or loss of discount, the payment must be postmarked by the last day of the month.
- Your cancelled check will serve as your receipt.
Effective October 1, 2011, the Tax Collector's Office has changed the policy for Unpaid Return Checks. The maker of a worthless check will be charged 5% of the face value of the amount of the worthless check, as authorized by Section 125.0105, Florida Statutes. The Statutes supercede any other writings.Back to Top
Pay in Person
- Cash payments are accepted only at this office location.
- Credit card payments are not accepted in person.
- Bring the entire tax notice to ensure proper validation of your payment.
- In cases where customers are paying $10,000 or more in cash or money orders, a social security card and a valid ID are required (i.e., a passport, U.S. issued driver's license).
- Discounts for payments made in person are based on the actual date payment is received.
To pay your current taxes in person, visit the
Back to Top
Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 West Flagler St., Room 101
Miami, FL 33130
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
The Miami-Dade County Tax Collector allows partial payments of current year taxes for real estate and tangible personal property tax. Partial payments are defined as "a payment that is less than the full amount of taxes due." The payment of partial payments is available for current real estate and tangible personal property commencing November 1st, 2013 through March 31st, 2014. This option is available for 2013 property taxes only.
- There is a $10.00 processing fee for each payment submitted.
- Once you have elected to participate in the Partial Payment Plan by making the first payment, you are required to continue participation for the tax year and you "Waive Your Right" to receive applicable discounts granted per Florida Statute 197.162.
- Balance must be paid by March 31, 2014 to avoid the taxes from becoming delinquent and applicable interest and fees to be added. If taxes are not paid by May 31, 2014, a tax certificate will be sold and the property may be sold at a future date.
- Taxpayers who maintain an escrow account with their mortgage company to pay for property taxes should not participate in the Partial Payment Plan.
If there is an outstanding Water, Road and Sewer Lien (WRS) being paid on an installment basis on your yearly tax bill, the installment portion for this year has to be paid in full prior to April 1st in order to avoid the remaining balance due on the lien to become delinquent and a separate tax certificate to be sold for the remaining delinquent amount of the Water, Road and Sewer Lien.
Make checks payable to: (Miami-Dade County Tax Collector)
(Drawn on US Funds on US Banks)
Applicants must complete, sign, mail or hand deliver partial payment and application to:
MIAMI-DADE TAX COLLECTOR
AD VALOREM EXCEPTIONS UNIT
140 W FLAGLER ST
MIAMI FL 33130
Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 West Flagler Street, 1st Floor
Miami, FL 33130
Under Florida Statutes 197.252 and 197.253, you may defer a portion or all of your property taxes and any non-ad valorem assessments.
- Be entitled to claim homestead exemption.
- All taxes may be deferred if Applicant’s household income is less than $10,000.
- Applicant is less than 65 years old with household income of $10,000 or more, that portion of tax bill that exceeds 5% of the Applicant’s household income may be deferred.
- Applicant who is 65 years of age or older with a household income greater than the Senior Homestead Exemption adjusted income limitation, may defer the portion of the tax bill which exceeds 3% of the applicant's household income for the prior calendar year. For information regarding the Senior Homestead Exemption adjusted income limitation amount, please visit the Property Appraiser website.
- Proof of fire and homeowners insurance on the property with Miami-Dade County Tax Collector listed as loss payee.
- Proof of income. (Application is classified confidential if federal income tax returns are attached).
- The total amount of deferral plus accrued interest and the balance of the primary mortgage cannot exceed 85% of the just value. The applicant’s primary mortgage cannot exceed 70% of the just value.
The tax deferral becomes a lien on the property with interest accruing on the deferred amount until the balance is paid. The interest rate may not exceed 7%.
Deferred tax amount plus interest becomes due and payable to the County if:
- You sell your home.
- Homeowners and fire insurance are not maintained.
- Change of property use occurs and owner is no longer entitled to claim homestead exemption for such property.
Applications for the deferral are accepted by the Tax Collector's Office starting Nov. 1, and must be submitted by March 31 of the following year.Back to Top
The Tax Collector's Office is authorized to allow taxpayers an alternative payment plan (installment plan) if their estimated taxes are more than $100.00. The taxpayer must complete a Notice and Application for Alternative Payment , or request in writing to the Tax Collector's Office prior to May 1st. The first payment must be made no later than June 30th. Failure to make the first payment will automatically cancel the participant from the plan, and the taxpayer will be required to pay the taxes due in full by March 31st.
Upon meeting the first installment deadline, the taxpayer is obligated to participate in the program for the entire year. Any amount remaining unpaid on April 1st is considered a delinquent tax. The following payment schedule applies to the installment plan:
- 1st Installment: 1/4 the total of estimated taxes discounted 6%.
Payment due by June 30th
- 2nd Installment: 1/4 to the total estimated taxes discounted 4.5%.
Payment due by September 30th
- 3rd Installment: 1/4 the total estimated taxes plus the remaining ½ of any adjustment made for actual tax liability discounted 3%.
Payment due by December 31st
4th Installment: 1/4 of the total estimated taxes plus the remaining ½ of any adjustment for actual tax liability. No discount applies.
Payment due by March 31st
Taxpayers participating in the Installment payment plan are automatically re-enrolled each year and do not have to complete a new application.Back to Top
Real Estate taxes become delinquent on April 1 of each year. After real estate taxes become delinquent, they are advertised in a local newspaper once a week for three consecutive weeks. The advertising and collection costs are added to the delinquent tax bill.
Beginning on or before June 1, the Tax Collector is required by law to hold a Tax Certificate Sale. The tax certificate represents a lien on unpaid real estate properties. Interest accrues on the tax certificate from June 1 until the taxes are paid. The amount of the certificate is the sum of the unpaid real estate tax and the non-ad valorem assessment, interest, advertising costs and fees.Back to Top
You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.
Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.